PoliticsTasmanian News

Tasmania declares Greater Brisbane a high risk area

Tasmania has declared Greater Brisbane a high risk area following the Queensland Government’s announcement of a three day lockdown of residents of this area.

This follows a city hotel quarantine worker being diagnosed with a more infectious ‘new variant’ strain of the virus that causes COVID-19.

Greater Brisbane covers five council areas – Brisbane, Moreton Bay, Redlands, Ipswich and Logan.

Residents of Greater Brisbane are required to stay at home and must not travel.

Any traveller arriving in Tasmania from today who has been in the Greater Brisbane area since 2 January will need to immediately quarantine for up to 14 days.

If they do not have a suitable premises they will be placed into a Government quarantine hotel.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button